The Paul Harris Fellow recognition acknowledges individuals who contribute, or who have contributions made in their name, of $1,000 to The Rotary Foundation.

Rotary established the recognition in 1957 to encourage and show appreciation for substantial contributions to what was then the Foundation’s only program, Rotary Foundation Fellowships for Advanced Study, the precursor to Ambassadorial Scholarships.

The first Paul Harris Fellows included past RI Director Allison G. Brush, who served during the 1937-38 Rotary year, and longtime RI Treasurer Rufus F. Chapin, both for donations made in 1946. Mrs. Adan Vargas was the first woman to receive the recognition, for a gift made in 1953. Mrs. Harry L. Jones was the second, and one of only five people recognized for contributions actually made in that inaugural year.

The number of Paul Harris Fellows reached the 1 million mark in 2006, including the following from our club!

John McCormack
Gord MacInnes
Robert Smith
Bill Paris
Al Taylor
Doug Lockington
Leo Doiron
Randy Reid
Tom Bennett
Wayne Smith
Brenda Booth
Bill Graham
Kim Winter
Susanne Davidson
Roy Harding
Eleanor Speight
Florence Townsend
Barbara Beck
Marilyn Huels
Pauline O’Dell
Robert Winslow
John Martyn
Walter Dyer
Eloise Bucholtz
Meredith Costume
Lesley Parnell
Barb Ketchabaw
Mike Melnick
Marg Tunney
Jim McCallum
Jim Hendry
Mollie Cartwell
Joyce Mackenzie
Ivy Sucee
Jennifer Reid
Steve Malone
Wally Davidson
Pam Devereaux
Harry Sherry
Tim Kennaley
Art Murray
Barb Cantello
Norm Shaw
Dan Gemmiti